It is so important for me to pay attention to changes in my attitude. If I don’t identify and address downward trends, I become used to them and they start to feel normal. From there, further decline is the natural progression. The greatest evidence that I will never be cured of my alcoholism is the fact that my thoughts do not stay healthy without continual reminders from AA. There is something just wrong in the way my mind grabs hold of certain ideas and hangs on to them. I can get very worked up if I feel that someone has been thoughtless toward me. As simple as the principles of AA are, and as many times as I have read, heard and spoken them, they refuse to take permanent root in my mind. A fresh supply is always needed. I do depend on a consistent long-term program of recovery. It is the safety net that ultimately keeps me from dropping into a chasm of unknowable pain.

Photo courtesy of AinV

Photo courtesy of AinV

