What’s the opposite of self-pity? Gratitude!! I am grateful to be alive, I am grateful to be sober, I am grateful . . .etc. The world is not conspiring to beat me up, it really could care less. Once I got off the pity pot, I could begin the process of recovery. I found that it was up to me to change if I did not want to continue being lost in the mire of my addiction to alcohol. I came to realize that I had choices, I could live a useful life of sobriety and recovery, or, I could continue to bemoan my lot in life, and hold others responsible for my poor status in life. Yes, I had a rough childhood; and yes, I have a disease – I HAVE a disease, it does not have me. There are solutions, there is promise, there is always hope.♥♥♥

Photo courtesy of Mark S.

Photo courtesy of Mark S.

