I don’t drink like other people do, never have – never will. The first time I drank, I got drunk – and it has remained that way for the whole of my life. When I take a drink it sets loose an overwhelming need to drink as much as I can, as fast as I can. This is not normal drinking. It took me some time to come to the understanding that I do not drink like “normal” people. The drinking was bad enough to live with, but there was also the negative behaviors that accompanied my drinking. The complete demoralization of my spirit, the incomprehensible slide into the darker sides of life – these all accompanied my drinking.

I believe I live a good life today. Having a Higher Power gives me the strength to search for a life blessed with spiritual understanding, and knowledge of what it means to walk a “higher path.” Changing my behavior, learning to live without alcohol, these are all things that bring me to a belief in an “abundant life.” The life I live today is so very different from the life I used to live – it is absurd to compare the two. Today, I am happy, content, able to give freely to others, able to “work” the Twelve Steps of Alcoholics Anonymous and I am no longer lost in the battle of the bottle. I am eternally grateful for the Program, I am humbled before my Higher Power!
images

