This huge piece of granite, with the hole in the center, was the anchor for the schooner “America” when she resided off the coast of Massachusetts. Can you imagine the work it took to get this rock out to a safe depth? And more amazingly, the work it took to get it back on shore and up to its resting place.

What’s my anchor? The first, the granite, is my trust and faith in a higher power. Without that, I can’t function in a serene, centered way. Without my anchor, none of the other things that I cherish, family, health, self expression, work, would not be functioning in a positive way. As I picture this anchor, I am grateful for the hole that allows me to tether those cherished parts of my life to it and has room for the challenges ahead (like quitting smoking as I just did Aug 1st!). There are many more analogies, what are yours?

Reflection and photo courtesy of MAGGS!!

Reflection and photo courtesy of MAGGS!!

