The Serenity Prayer is one prayer that I use to help me keep my life in perspective. It always reminds me of the three things I am asking for when I say the Serenity Prayer: serenity, courage and wisdom. Serenity to accept the fact of my limitations, that there will be much in my life that only God can control. Courage to change – believe me, it takes courage to change; just when I think I’ve got this thing called life figured out – another change happens. . . and that requires yet another adjustment. But the end result is a better life through these changes and challenges. That brings me to “wisdom,” that is something which takes time, and lots of it. It means getting my own ego out of the way, that I might then gain some knowledge and understanding of the disease of alcoholism, and, more importantly, knowledge of the recovery process and promises. The brevity and wisdom in the Serenity Prayer is something that never ceases to amaze me. Prayers can be as long as we want or as short as time allows. It was such a relief to learn that true humility comes from releasing the power I thought I needed, to turning my life and my will over to the care of God, as I understood Him, through prayer.
PRAY

