My struggle with my addiction to alcohol, has been curtailed by the Program of Alcoholics Anonymous . . . and my Higher Power. It is a multifaceted, multi-layered plan of action that is defined in the Big Book. It is a life-changing, life altering plan of action that lasts a life time. It takes my dedication, and my willingness to be open to change and growth – for it will not happen without these important Twelve Steps to recovery – and that I can promise you. I have been witness to the miracle of recovery time and again in the Program, just as I have also been witness to the demise and ruin of those who fail to grasp the concept of a Higher Power. Their struggle is a long and arduous one that ends in death for many. In the Program, death can be viewed as an “easy out” when it comes to the complete demoralization that can bring an alcoholic to their knees. I am grateful to have been blessed to have found my Higher Power. He is with me always, but that is not to say that I can rest on my laurels as alcoholism is a cunning foe, and it requires not only my diligence but my dedication as well. I am open to faith in a God of my understanding. I am open to the power of the Program, and I am open to the world I live in . . . I embrace my world, I embrace the Program and I embrace my Higher Power!!

Photo courtesy of Tom S

Photo courtesy of Tom S

