There is comfort in familiarity, a means to anchor myself in a new environment. If I choose a seat in a new meeting room, I am likely to choose the same seat on the second day. It is as if I want one thing to stay the same, to be mine, to have a consistent vantage point. Humans and many other creatures are soothed by routines and patterns. Alcoholics are no different in this respect.

I distinctly recall the routines and rituals of my alcoholism. My mind had a well-worn path for the journey to intoxication. Counting the money, digging for more in the purse and drawers and pockets, seeing the label, seeing it, seeing it, checking the mirror, how obvious would I be? Again and again I retraced this journey. Today my patterns in AA help keep me sober. The rituals facilitate actions that help me through another 24 hours. The practices upon awakening, the habit of pausing throughout the day, the meeting schedule, the regular appointments with my sponsor and sponsees, the books by my bedside. These patterns have woven my sobriety into whole cloth. ♥

Reflection courtesy of ZUZU

Reflection courtesy of ZUZU

