Call me CRAY CRAY…. but I find comfort in the repetition of the readings, and the shares by others. Yes, sometimes members can be long-winded – that is what is needed for them, at that time. I am just as eligible for my turn of sharing, to be lengthy or repetitious. Sharing is always an interesting topic, as it is as diversified as we are. I sit in meetings, listening to others, and sometimes my minds wanders – thoughts of what I will say enter, and then when I’m called on, it all comes out different anyway. I need to be mindful of the other members in any given meeting. In keeping my share short, I give time to others. I look for ways I can “add” to the topic being discussed, and I know that if I am speaking from the truth, whatever I say can, perhaps, be of benefit to others. The meeting time is a time of rest and respite for me, my attention is focused on recovery, not on the external world. It’s my spiritual manna, where I can pause and quietly listen for the still, small voice of God, directing me onward. It’s where I feel my connection to God more intently than at any other place. I hear about recovery, growth, how the Steps are at work in the lives of others. I hear my “brothers and sisters” talk about how they are living a life of spiritual recovery.
“Alcoholics Anonymous is a fellowship of men and women who share their experience, strength and hope with each other that they may solve their common problem and help others to recover from alcoholism.”
pro

