Loss is painful, be it our nearest and dearest, or just a person we have come to know and love. There is loss in recovery. Sometimes our fellow members have reached a point in the disease of alcoholism where too much damage to the body has been done. I can think of several members who have been laid to rest, despite recovery. I hear about it and think “I am grateful to God for every day I have in sobriety.” One thing the Program teaches me is that grief is a feeling, and feelings come and go. I do not have to blot out my grief with drugs and alcohol. I can turn to others in the Program, others who will listen, others who will share their own grief – and how they “lived” through it. I came to the Program in a state of grief, I was making the decision to lay my alcoholism to rest. Walking through the doors of A.A. brought me all the comfort I needed at that time. Grief, when shared, lessens it. Joy, when shared, increases it.

Turning to God and the program of Alcoholics Anonymous was exactly what I needed when I first sought recovery. I found comfort in the rooms, I found hope at the tables, and I found that I was no longer alone with my grief – others had suffered loss, as well. The disease of alcoholism is a deadly disease, and while recovery will help us heal emotionally, the damage to our bodies cannot be undone. I am grateful to be upright and moving, in spite of my age and health. I believe God has more work for me in this lifetime, and I believe He will carry me through the tough times of loss and grief.
pro

