There is always hope. Sometimes it does get buried underneath the muck that life can be, once in a while. But it survives, day after day, and year after year. I only need to look around the rooms of A.A. to see hope – I will hear “hope” in the voices of those sharing their experience, and strength by means of their “story.” When I look around at the faces of those in the rooms, I find not only hope but a determination borne of desperation. I love the faces of newcomers – they lift their heads and come alive with the “possibility” of a change. It was such an awakening when I first comprehended the idea of surrender, that turning my life and my will over to the care of my Higher Power would free me to reclaim the hope that I had lost along the way. What a sad situation it was to be without hope. Once I found it, I did not want to give it up – I embraced hope, and with it came an honesty that set me free. I have, once again, turned my life over to my Higher Power, and have accepted that God is still in charge of my life. As long as I claim sobriety, the rest of my life will be easier and tolerable. That ray of hope is still there, all it takes is a little honesty, and the courage to admit that I need help, and with that, the possibilities are endless.

Photo courtesy of Mark S.

Photo courtesy of Mark S.

