While it may seem like I gave up a lot coming to AA, I will never balance that scale, as I have received so much more than I ever gave up. I thought that I was going to just quit drinking – but the truth of the matter is that I have been blessed with a new life. A life that seems to be diametrically opposed to what I once had. In the place of all that was negative, I have been given the path to a positive life. One of the best blessings I have received in recovery was to be true to myself – I never would have believed that I could do that – but with the help of my Higher Power I am whole. That is truly a miracle by itself. There are good habits and bad habits, and while I no longer have some of my bad habits, I will never be free of all my character defects – but today they are minimal in number as compared to what they once were. I don’t always eat right, but I’m no longer killing myself drinking and drugging. I am taking better care of myself than I ever did before…and for THAT, I am truly Blessed and GRATEFUL!!!
Cloud_in_the_sunlight

