There is only a one letter difference between meditation and medication. Before recovery I used “medication” as a means of resolving issues in my life. I just tuned them out. Now I can see where that just invited a constant repetition of the same problems, again and again. “Meditation” on the other hand, affords me the opportunity to explore all the choices that I have in any given situation, and it causes me to take whatever time I need to ensure that I have considered all the options – and then it grants me the serenity, courage and wisdom to dare to change my behavior. God grant me the Serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the Courage to change the things I can, and the Wisdom to know the difference. This simple prayer is one I use in my request for a “daily reprieve.” It speaks to change and growth, to improved conscious contact with the God of my understanding, and to the hoped for wisdom of recovery through a Higher Power.
PRAY

