Prayer and meditation are often overlooked as being unnecessary components of the Program. I mean I’m attending meetings, I’m in service to others, and I have continued to “clean house” through working the Steps, but when it comes to prayer, I think “Well, I pray at the meetings, and I do say brief prayers when needed.” But when I honestly look at my prayer life, I can see where my efforts are brief and quite often very minimal. It says in the Eleventh Step that I should be praying for knowledge of His will for me and the power to carry that out. It also says that through prayer and meditation I should be seeking to improve my conscious contact with the God of my understanding. When I consider those two elements of prayer and meditation, I can see where I’m lacking in my dedication and spirituality. I seek to remain teachable through the power of the Steps and my faith in God.
1763573_orig

