For me, working the Steps is but a beginning to my recovery. I believe it takes faith in God (unity), working the Steps (recovery), and carrying the message to those who are still suffering (service). Wisdom comes in the lessons I continue to learn – each day, every day. Changes in my behavior changes my perception – of me, and those I share this world with, they are what tells me that God is at work. My job is my recovery, I pray that I remain not only sober, but with some degree of serenity. I admit my alcoholism, I have come to believe, and I have turned my life and my will over to the care of the God of my understanding. I see the Steps in groups of three : Steps 1,2, and 3; are the “give up” Steps, where I admit my disease. Steps 4,5,and 6 are the “open up” Steps, where I get honest. Steps 7,8 and 9 are the “make up” Steps where I learn to say “I’m sorry.” And the final three 10, 11 and 12 are the “keep up” Steps, which are the “maintenance” Steps. With practice….. these simple, powerful Steps can transform my life into the joy of living. Through the recovery process of A.A., my transformation is a reality.

maxresdefault

