There is something strange that happens to my thinking when I lose my connection to the Fellowship.  I lose the flexibility and fluidity that helps me evaluate things all the way through. Instead, I stop at the point that offers the handiest solution.  My thought process narrows as well – instead of thinking outside the box, the box gets smaller and more confining.  When I try to be my own solution, I quickly get entrenched in a mindset and handily dismiss things that really should be explored more deeply.  I make simple things too complicated and complicated things too simplistic.  I need the Fellowship.  One word, one phrase I have heard a thousand times, one knowing look can be enough to remind me of what is important, where the wisdom lies, who I am, and how I got here.  It is in my nature to want to fly solo.  I don’t like being accountable to others.  I don’t like my views to be challenged.  In some circumstances, these traits are useful and helpful, but when it comes to working my way through life’s ups and downs and personal challenges, I know that I benefit from a wider perspective.  Luckily for me it is readily available, largely consistent, and free of charge.

Photo courtesy of Poppapete

Photo courtesy of Poppapete

