It can get gloomy and foggy in my town.  When it goes on for weeks like that, people smile less and seem more weary.   When the sun finally does comes out, there is a happiness that washes over people, they relax and laugh again, they soak in the warmth and behold the beauty that the light brings.  Page 66 of the Big Book states that harboring resentments causes us to “shut ourselves off from the sunlight of the Spirit.”  Sunlight is a great metaphor for the peace, joy, relaxation, confidence and appreciation that come from a close connection with my Higher Power.  When I stop relying entirely on my overly analytical brain, when I trust my Higher Power to show me the right thing to do or say at the right time, I stop struggling and spinning my wheels.  I make fewer mistakes and fewer enemies.  I stop burning bridges. I stop my dark imaginings.  That spiritual sunlight is there anytime I am willing to turn toward it.  Even on the coldest day, if I close my eyes and imagine the radiance of a Higher Power shining on me, I actually, physically, feel the warmth.  The more I turn my heart toward this Spirit, the more calmly and intelligently I handle all the challenges that life brings.  The sun is life giving.  The sunlight of the Spirit is peace giving.  I want a life bathed in light, a life lived in grace.

Photo and reflection courtesy of Tom R

Photo and reflection courtesy of Tom R

