Alcoholism creates a gladiator pit where the will and ego do battle against the unpredictable forces of life, fate, and human interaction. Bloodied and battered the will and the ego drag themselves up from the sand and launch more futile assaults to wrest control of the alcoholic’s existence. The masked and shielded victors cut them down again. To this day my will is so formidable, and takes great convincing that it needs to fall to its knees. It always has an answer. It always envisions victory.

So long as I remember that there is One who has all power, I do not thrash around any more than necessary. I came here seeking power, because I had none. The Power I found here could do much more than relieve the insanity of my alcoholism. If I surrender completely to this Power, then something remarkable happens: my will is busy practicing the skills and abilities given to me in this life, while a larger, omniscient presence guides those skills and abilities to their highest good, their optimal use. When I give myself over to the Power, I become a living expression of love. All Power becomes mine.
soto-all-power

