I can claim sobriety and that’s  huge  for me. It is the one thing that gives me the courage to believe that I can make changes in other areas of my life, that I do not have to remain a “failure” in my own eyes. But rather than beat myself up for what I do not do, or I did wrong – – I choose to applaud my efforts, however small they may be. I am human and am capable of errors, all the time. I know I will make mistakes, I will not achieve every goal I set for myself and I will stumble and fall once in a while. Accepting my missteps enables me to try again, to forgive myself of my humanity. I am good enough today, I know this to be true for me – and others. I am in competition with myself, no one else. I gave up trying to “outdo” others, now my standards and goals are more spiritual in nature. I try to do what I believe God wants me to do. I am on track, and on course with my life. And am Sober TODAY!

Coming to an acceptance of myself as an imperfect human being has given me the right to be wrong. On page 76 of the Big Book, you will find the following prayer: “My Creator, I am now willing that you should have all of me, good, and bad. I pray that you will now remove from me every single defect of character which stands in the way of my usefulness to You and my fellows. Grant me strength as I go out from here to do Your bidding. Amen,”
1763573_orig

