I have seen people go to very extraordinary lengths to help their fellow AA members, with no expectation of anything in return. Whether in ordinary suffering or in grave crisis, sober alcoholics in AA tend to rally around each other. Food, shelter, jobs, loans, transportation, living assistance, and in the end, hospice – help of every kind is given without hesitation. I once heard the story of a priest in New York who was preparing to give a sermon and was visited by a newly sober friend who looked very shaky and upset. The friend said his wife had decided to leave him, so he was ready to give up on his sobriety and go get a drink. The priest asked him to wait until the sermon was over, and the friend agreed. It was a very large church with a big congregation. Toward the end of the service, the priest said “Most of you will not understand what I am about to say, but that’s okay. If there are any friends of Bill in the audience, please meet me in the hallway.” Over fifty people stood up and proceeded to the hallway. They took care of the newly sober man for the next three days until he could regain his footing. I love this story, and it is not unique. I feel the same way today…with all of you reading this, as you have been my saving grace. Thank you!!
tom-s-elephants-in-road

