I know that the problem of drinking requires more than human solutions, it requires a spiritual power. Recently, I’ve come to terms with that, and my recovery began in earnest. Turning my drinking problem over to the care of a Higher Power, a power greater than myself, was but a beginning of my new journey to sobriety. This is Steps One through Three. And it took the rallying of sober friends plus a smidgen of faith, just a moment of being open and willing to consider the possibility of a power greater than me, greater than my disease. The spirit of God was at work in the lives of others around the tables, was it not then possible that it would work for me once again, as well? I came to believe – powerful words. All I had to do was “keep the faith,” and God did the rest. The spirit of love, the spirit of faith, and the spirit of acceptance all combined to give me the willingness to consider faith as an ally. I am grateful, and truly humbled before God, whose power has graced my life with peace, serenity and a joy beyond measure…one more time.

Photo courtesy of Mark S.

Photo courtesy of Mark S.

