I knew there was a power greater than me, and greater than my disease of alcoholism. I could clearly see it in the members present at meetings. I began by choosing to listen rather than talk on at length about a recovery I had not yet experienced when I first came to AA. I began by getting comfortable with prayer and communion with God. I began by working towards acceptance, willingness, and being open-minded. I just kept coming back, time after time. I am keeping the plug in the jug, no matter what, but in the beginning, I just kept asking questions, searching out answers in the Big Book, and other literature. I began by accepting the fact of change in my life – for without change there could be no recovery. It is said that a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step – this has certainly been true for me. My single step was the one I took over the door recently, and into the rooms of A.A.for Good!

Photo courtesy of ALBERT!

Photo courtesy of ALBERT!

