I accept who I am today, without reservation. I know I am a flawed person, after all I am human. I have worked the program and have gone through the process of change, which covers past, present and future. I have forgiven myself for my missteps and mistakes. I have found that I can laugh at my errors. I am not better than, or worse than anyone else. I have been blessed with a particular set of skills and capabilities, and I am unique in many ways. Being an alcoholic has classified me with others, some who desire sobriety and some who do not. I accept me – woman, sober alcoholic, mother, grandmother, and friend. I understand what it means to change in a basic way, and that recovery is not only a desire but an absolute need. For me, to drink again is to die (ultimately). I no longer try to be like the people around me, today I know I can stand on my own two feet, have my own opinions, likes, and dislikes. I am no longer the sheep following the sheep, following the sheep. I can go my own way – and allow others the same rights and privileges. What is it that YOU can accept?

Photo Courtesy of MX

Photo Courtesy of MX

