The principle that we shall find no enduring strength until we first admit complete defeat is the main taproot from which our whole Society has sprung and flowered.
-Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, pp. 21-22

I found hope at my first meeting. No one told me to leave, no one told me that I did not belong, and no one told me that I was in the wrong place. Just the opposite happened – I felt welcomed and accepted. I listened to others talk about their problems, which I expected, but then came a surprise – they talked about how the Steps helped them with those problems. It was more than a litany of problems, it was a way out of the darkness that had been my life for so many, many years. I heard solution, I heard hope and I heard understanding. There was so much to try and comprehend, then someone said I should Keep Coming Back, that this was a life-long program of change and growth, it was not a class that I would “graduate” from. I relaxed a little, knowing that it was a “process” not an “event.” Today it is my livelyhood.With outside help, the steps, a sponsor, and meetings….it’s a good day to have a SOBER DAY!!

Photo courtesy of Mark S. (Beautiful)

Photo courtesy of Mark S. (Beautiful)

