Learning to live by the Spiritual Principles of AA alone can take a lifetime. The Program is not something we complete, it is something we live – day by day. No matter how long we have been in a state of recovery, there are always new lessons to learn. I need to practice the principles of honesty and integrity, daily. The old behaviors are still present and being mindful of that fact can save me a lot of misery. I work to be as honest as I can. It takes courage to be emotionally honest with others, particularly those we love, and whose love we seek. It takes willingness to effect the changes in my behavior that are needed for me to achieve a true sense of humility and self-love. It takes perseverance, and a true sense of “brotherly love” for me to accept the love of my Higher Power, God. Today I love and care about all others, to the best of my ability. I walk in the sunlight of the Spirit, and I seek to do His will.

Photo courtesy of Maggs!!

Photo courtesy of Maggs!!

