(Reflection courtesy of Bill M)-it’s pretty amazing when we all contribute! Thank you!
Having made a personal inventory what did I do about it? My sponsor heard my story as revealed to myself in my written inventory. “I wasted no time.” (p. 75). The big book does not have many time cues. When they are there, they are important. I had digested big chunks of truth and my stomach was uneasy. I was in pain and I have a solution for emotional pain. Step 5 gave me a different, better solution: sharing with another person and God. I felt instant relief sharing my wrongs. Step 5 is where I started to see the value of the program. When we talk about The Promises we usually mean the ninth step promises but there are promises after every step. After step five:

“Once we have taken this step, withholding nothing, we are delighted. We can look the world in the eye. We can be alone at perfect peace and ease. Our fears fall from us. We begin to feel the nearness of our Creator. We may have had certain spiritual beliefs, but now we begin to have a spiritual experience. The feeling that the drink problem has disappeared will often come strongly. We feel we are on the Broad Highway, walking hand in hand with the Spirit of the Universe.”
iStock_000014500116_Medium

