HAPPY 10 YEARS JAYBIRD!!!!

(reflection courtesy of KT-thank you!!!)

When I was new in A.A., I had those two ideas confused. I thought fear would leave me only when I started making money. However, another line from the Big Book jumped off the page one day when I was chewing on my financial difficulties: “For us, material well-being always followed spiritual progress; it never preceded.” (p. 127). I suddenly understood that this promise was a guarantee. I saw that it put priorities in the correct order, that spiritual progress would diminish that terrible fear of being destitute, just as it diminished many other fears.

Today I try to use the talents God gave me to benefit others. I’ve found that is what others valued all along. I try to remember that I no longer work for myself. I only get the use of the wealth God created, I never have “owned” it. My life’s purpose is much clearer when I just work to help, not to possess.

When I first came into AA I felt such a despair, the phrase in the promises from the BB gave me a little hope. Fear of economic security will leave us…. well I found myself financially bankrupt, emotionally bankrupt, and ridden with a toxic guilt. So the only thing I could do was one day at a time go to meetings and ask for help.
Finally years later I dug myself out of fiscal ruin. Today the daily reflections resonate with me, the money and material things really are not mine and I can’t take them with me.

photo from KT

photo from KT

