I took a long, hard look at my life and decided I had nothing to lose – and I made the decision to try. After all, I admitted that I was powerless over alcohol, and I could readily see that my life was unmanageable. Taking it to the next Step was easier than I imagined. Step Two promised the possibility of a return to sanity, and perhaps a faith in a “higher power.” What did I have to lose? Not much at this point. After a period of time my mind did begin to clear and my thinking began to at least become manageable, and I began to “hear” the words of others, with an open mind. I worked on my sobriety and left my “faith in a Higher Power.” After a time, I did come to believe and made the “decision to turn my will and my life over to the care of God as I understood Him.” It turned out to be the best decision I ever made. If the power of faith can make a drunk sober, then who am I to question this faith in a Higher Power? It was working in the lives of many at the tables, and there was no reason to think that it would not also work in my life.
images

