Thank goodness for the Program, I am no longer that demanding “child” of years past. I have learned to accept others. I have learned that I am capable of change and growth. I have found the path to independence emotionally in sobriety, through the process we call recovery. Change has been the name of the game when it comes to my relationships. I respect the differences I have with others. I can “Live and Let Live.” What others do and how they work their program – is not my business or my concern. Instead I try to do that all important daily inventory and correct my mistakes as soon as possible. I work “my” program, and do not make “suggestions” about the program of others, unless I am directly asked. Detaching is still something I continue to learn about. I am blessed to say that the “older” I get in the Program, the more I realize just how much I still have to learn. Another slogan that applies for me is “Let Go and Let God,” which means that if I can detach, perhaps God will have a chance to effect the changes in me that will benefit both myself and those I love.

Photography by M.K.

Photography by M.K.

