God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; the courage to change the things I can; the wisdom to know the difference; Living one day at a time; Enjoying one moment at a time; Accepting hardship as the pathway to peace; Taking, as He did, this sinful world as it is, not as I would have it; Trusting that He will make all things right if I surrender to His will; That I may be reasonably happy in this life, and supremely happy with Him forever in the next. Amen.

The history of the Serenity Prayer:
There is still much debate about how the Program came to use the prayer. Another prayer has come to light through the efforts of an A.A. member, and is declared to be perhaps the origin of the Serenity Prayer. A tablet was found inscribed with the following words: “God give me the detachment to accept those things I cannot alter; the courage to alter those things which I can alter; and the wisdom to distinguish the one from the other.” These words (are) by Friedrich Otenger, an evangelical priest of the eighteenth century . . . Some believe this little prayer to be a “soldier’s prayer from the fourteenth century.”
But the history of the Serenity Prayer is not the most important thing – what is important is that this prayer can and does help me, an alcoholic. There have been days in my life when this prayer was the only words uttered. There is much in life I cannot accept. It does take courage to change. And knowing the difference between the two is a blessing from God. The source of the prayer does not really matter, what matters is that it works for me, and countless others!!!
1763573_orig

