(Reflection courtesy of Bill M)

When I humbly asked God to remove my shortcomings I used the seventh step prayer.
“My Creator, I am now willing that you should have all of me, good and bad. I pray that you now remove from me every single defect of character which stands in the way of my usefulness to you and my fellows. Grant me strength, as I go out from here, to do your bidding. Amen.”
The asking was simple because I had become willing in Step 6. I had learned in the fellowship that asking for assistance is not a sign of weakness, but an indication of growth and strength.

Humbly took some work. Humbly is from Latin (Humilis), which is from the Latin word for earth (humus). Synonyms for humble are modest, down-to-earth. When I am humble, I am not lower or better than someone else, I am right sized. I do not think too much or too little of myself. I found myself saying the seventh step prayer when I was disgusted with myself. Not humble. When I thought too much of myself I would forget to say the prayer at all. Not humble.

When I humbly ask, I am not demanding defects be removed. I am patient. Defects are removed in God’s time not mine. I am responsible for the action not the result. Humility means I am teachable.

Praying hands

