Accepting the fact of change was something I struggled with for many years. I acknowledge that change is inevitable, and desirable in many instances. I have changed from being an absolute crazy person, one who was constantly in a state of change in the hopes of “mastering” my disease. I tried everything I could think of to control my drinking – and it all worked well, until that first drink – then all my determination went out the window. Time and again, my “plan” would backfire on me, and once again I would awaken to another hangover, another morning of trying to remember just what I had done the night before. I was on a fast track leading nowhere for many years. When I began my journey to the tables, I welcomed change, I wanted it badly, and knew that change was the only pathway to recovery. I began by learning what I later came to know as some of the Spiritual Principles; such as patience, open-mindedness, honesty, humility and a willingness to change, to grow, and to become as God desired me to be. Do you struggle with change?

Photo courtesy of Soto

Photo courtesy of Soto

