Recovery is a process, a process of learning new behaviors and new ways of dealing with old problems. There are so many facets to recovery, and many times I have been in the middle of bemoaning my lot in life to another member, and a thought will surface that totally makes sense about an issue in my life. Just talking things out with another is always a good idea, I never know when my brain is going to release a bit of information that can lead to growth and understanding. Sometimes I just need a new or different perspective on whatever issue I’m dealing with. Solutions can be staring me right in the face, but until I hear it from another person, I fail to see it as a solution. It reminds me of a story I heard once about a member who was having a hard time, and another member offered a suggestion about his problem, which he immediately rejected as not workable for him. Later it was learned that the suggestion was followed and worked. When asked about his lack of acceptance of the suggested solution to his problem, he said “I didn’t think it would work for me because I did not think of it, someone else did.” My ego can surely get in the way of my recovery solutions, but I have learned to accept and appreciate the lessons that others have to impart, even if the solution is not my idea. For me that’s definitely a sign of growth in the Program. Thank you ALL for being here…even if you don’t comment-I can FEEL today that you’re here!!
chalkboard-life-lessons-630x370

