I have times of weariness, times when I need to rest my mind and body, times when my spirit needs to take a few moments of communion with God. Some days a short fifteen minute nap lifts my spirits, other days it takes an hour. I’m at an age and place in life where I “listen” to my body, and have no qualms about taking that time for me. I am able to be of service to others when I am rested and feeling good mentally and physically. I can not offer courage to those who are discouraged, if I do not take care of my needs, first. Turning to the spiritual gives me strength and hope. I have a partner in life, in spirit and in the Program – that partner is my Higher Power. The solution to my weariness lies in the spiritual realm, not in the physical. At first, it was confusing for me – I was encouraged to be selfless, yet, at the same time, I was also told to take care of me. How, I wondered, do I do both?

Photo courtesy of MAGGS

Photo courtesy of MAGGS

