Living the AA life has given me glimpses of some of the most valuable human interactions there can be. It has made me privy to extraordinary transformation in people’s lives and in their deepest beliefs. Being on the inside has opened my eyes to the stunningly powerful invisible forces acting on our lives and co-creating with us. Being an alcoholic among alcoholics has peeled away layers and layers of my assumptions, presumptions, premises, theories and conclusions. I have learned that what I see is often not where my focus belongs. Inside the Rooms I understand the many faces of alcoholism. I learn to suspend my judgments, and how often they are wrong. The most important education I have received has been while seated in a plastic chair in a church basement or community center. And when I emerge from those Rooms, that Fellowship, I carry those teachings with me everywhere. They remind me to stop and breathe, to listen with my heart before I leap with my head. My eyes take in the world with the perspective I have learned in AA. And after they look around, they turn and look within, for the wisdom I have carefully stored there.

Photo courtesy of Jaybird

Photo courtesy of Jaybird

