Fear happens in an instant, but I do not have to give it a place to dwell. I can dispel my feelings of fear by praying, and reaching out to others, by reminding myself that fear is a temporary response to a threat of some sort. I do not invite fear to stay. I recognize it for what it is – a lack of faith in my Higher Power. Once I turn to the God of my understanding, fear lessens immediately. I am reminded that I no longer have to allow fear to rule my world, I am capable of change, I am capable of meeting life’s challenges today. I do not have to resort to fear, dread, negative anticipation, or any of the other “dark” responses to my feelings. I can and do know that FAITH will get me to the other side of fear. I used to fear that others would find out the truth about my life – and reject me. I used to fear that my addiction to alcohol would consume me, and I would not survive. I used to fear that my lack of faith would bring down the wrath of God upon me. None of these things happened. My fears were found to be groundless. Others know me, the real me, and still love me. Recovery has intervened and I live a life free of alcohol. I have found a faith in a God of my understanding, deep within me, that is strong and lights the way to a life of happiness, joy and freedom.

Photo courtesy of Maggs!

Photo courtesy of Maggs!

