There are some areas of my life where I seem to do the bare minimum.  Inevitably it catches up with me and there is some kind of hell to pay.  I will not take that risk with my sobriety.  Through trial and error I have clearly seen what I need to be doing in order to maintain emotional balance and serenity.  I know firsthand what it takes to be prepared for sudden setbacks.  If I want to lose weight I have to eat smarter and move more.  It is that simple.   If I want to stay sober, I have to go to meetings and continually work the Steps.  It is that simple.  Every time I connect with the Fellowship, I am buying insurance.  Every time I carry the message of sobriety, I am putting money in the bank.  Although I stay sober one day at a time, living for this day only is not enough.  Part of every day is preparation for tomorrow and beyond.  When the tide rises up without notice, I hope to be safely above the swell.

20160229_070740-01

