I always seem to end up in a corner, emotionally, where it’s one way or another. This has been a pattern in my life. It feels like I have to choose between one life style or another. This “all or nothing” attitude causes me great stress. I know I’m not the only one with family issues, some members of A.A. have to break ties with close relationships, and some are fortunate enough to re-establish close relationships with family members. Perhaps my expectations have been too great, perhaps I want more emotionally than is available to me – whatever the case, I am searching for some answers. My life style has changed in the process of getting sober, I am not the same person I was before. But those who were closest to me (family) are now more like the “old” me, instead of the “new” me. Just for today I will turn my life and my emotions over to the God of my understanding. Just for today I will allow myself some time for self-examination. Just for today I will place this problem in the hands of my Higher Power. Just for today.
1763573_orig

