I have little to no control over what others think, believe, feel or how they behave. My focus is on my own behaviors, my own feelings and my own recovery. The “Grapevine” quote for today says it well: “Our mistakes of yesterday can be stepping stones for tomorrow if we do something about them today.” Sharing my experience, strength and hope with others is one way of changing those old behaviors. Admitting my mistakes, growing in mature behavior, and having the willingness to change – all are factors in being true to myself. Honesty is always a “biggie” for me, and that applies here, as well. I sometimes have to dig out my true feelings, that takes time and patience – and if I make a mistake, I can always amend it. My perception of myself has changed. I respect myself more today a little at a time. I have to take that first step. I MUST, or I will die!
R18

