(This one REALLY HITS HOME FOR ME AT THIS TIME IN MY LIFE!! Thank you ALL for your support, and the FOG is lifting!!!!)

If I ever think that I am above another alcoholic, or that he has fallen further than I ever could go, I am fooling myself. Nor can I judge another’s inability to maintain sobriety, nor proclaim the exact nature of his shortcomings. Within me lies a thousand relapses, years in prison, bodily damage and every other ravage of alcoholism. It is very important that I do not forget the infinite power of alcohol to take me lower than I ever thought possible. Sometimes I sit in meetings with people whose stories I have heard, and I marvel at their serenity, integrity, dedication and wisdom. I try to imagine them doing the horrible things they have described in their shares, but I cannot. The body can forget, society can forget, our families can forget, but we must never, never forget. If we turn our will and our lives over to alcohol, we will be at the mercy of a tyrant who will not be satisfied until we are consumed entirely. That is why we look back, remember what it was like, and retell it to one another. Not because we have one foot in the past, but because we must always keep one eye trained on it. This is a disease of forgetting. One that makes the man at the bus stop seem a stranger and not our brother. There, but for the grace of God, go I.

Photo courtesy of AINV!

Photo courtesy of AINV!

