Removing my shortcomings is a process, not an event. It has taken me a while to determine just what is meant by shortcomings and defects of character. Now that I have determined what my defects are, I work on a daily basis to delete them from my life. Sometimes, I just do the very opposite of what I think is my response – especially when it comes to the Spiritual Principles. For every negative there is a positive, and vice versa. I have to laugh when I look back at a time in my life when I had just finished doing my first Steps 4 and 5, and when my sponsor asked me for a list of my shortcomings, my reply was “I don’t have any.” that brought a strong and hearty laugh from her. I was told to look again, and to consider my behavior in the past, not necessarily my current behavior. Was I rude, inconsiderate; did I lie and tell mistruths; did I physically or mentally injure others; did my blackouts cause others undue discomfort and/or pain? How ironic that because I didn’t do a THOROUGH 4th step, that’s just where I am today, all these years later. Using the Spiritual Principles as a tool of recovery gives me a “plan” for the right behaviors. Humility is an abstract term that tells me that I am no better or no worse than anyone else. What “gifts” I do claim are those that were given to me by the God of my understanding. He gave me patience and perseverance. He gave me a brain that likes to solve problems. He gave me understanding, and tenacity that I may have the ability to write. He has gifted me – many times. I am blessed today, one day at a time!!!
1763573_orig

