I find that it is a joy to be free enough to be honest with my past. The shame of my past behaviors has lifted since beginning my new 4th step, and in it’s place is understanding of the disease of alcoholism. Being new to the Program was such a learning experience, and one that continues especially today. The fact that my ability to be honest about my past life is yet another example of the power of the Program, and the effect it has on my life. Instead of shame and regret, I now find that I can and do feel good about who I am and what I am. I am Bonnie, sober alcoholic and active member of Alcoholics Anonymous. I no longer rue my past life, today I know that it serves as a “teacher” of what I don’t want in my life, and it serves as an example to others of the power of the Twelve Steps. Change is possible – change in my behavior results in changes in the way I feel about myself, and life in general. Whether my daughter keeps my granddaughter away from me out of lack of trust, my God has brought me to a place of change, and I have a true sense of gratitude, one day at a time. I am blessed to have your support and the support of my home group, and my inner family.

Photo courtesy of AINV

Photo courtesy of AINV

