“When the pupil is ready, the teacher appears.” ……Being intolerant of others was pretty high on my list of things I needed to learn about. Being critical of others was common for me – in recovery that had to change. To begin with I found that I had been pretty intolerant of myself. This negative self-image was holding me back from coming to terms with acceptance of myself and the terrible things that have happened to me, as both a human being and an alcoholic. I am both of these – that is not to say I am “bad” in any way, but to remind myself of all my human qualities. When I found that I could grow in self-love, I began to see how I could love others. When I became tolerant of my own flaws, I began to see that while my imperfections were clearly there, I could also see that there was hope for change and my attitude needed to be adjusted. My life is on my Higher Powers’ schedule, and this simple fact has blessed me with the beginnings of a spiritual understanding that has exceeded all my expectations. There is much to learn, and much to change in my world, and I am forever stretching towards growth and understanding. Just for this day I am endeavoring to reclaim my recovery and sobriety~!!!

Photo courtesy of Maggs!!

Photo courtesy of Maggs!!

