“To Thine Own Self Be True” this is etched on our “birthday” chips,(and also tattooed down the side of my leg, lol) and is considered to be an important part of the recovery “message.” To me, it means that I follow my true feelings, that I laugh when I’m happy, and cry when I’m sad. It also means that I express my true feelings, whenever possible. In the process of working the Twelve Steps this time around, I have come to the conclusion that I no longer have anything to hide about my past – I am, however, select about with whom I share. My faults and misdeeds serve as lessons to others today, and are therefore no longer my shame, but my hope for the future of myself and my fellow alcoholics. Coming to terms with my honesty was the most freeing feeling I have ever felt in my life. I was free to be me – warts and all. It gave me the courage to open my heart and mind to the real crux of recovery. Being true to myself is essential to the the process we know and love as recovery. Today, I am true to me and I am true to the God of my understanding!
recovery-tokens_bsp1

