Quote is from “Stepping Stones to Recovery”- “Humility Prayer”
Lord, I am far too much influenced by what people think of me.
Which means that I am always pretending to be either richer or smarter or nicer than I really am.
Please prevent me from trying to attract attention.
Don’t let me gloat over praise on the one hand or be discouraged by criticism on the other.
Nor let me waste time weaving imaginary situations in which the most heroic, charming, witty person present is myself.
Show me how to be humble of heart like You.

The quote asks that I be prevented from trying to attract attention. I am not as humble as I would hope to be. Humility is described as “the absence of any feelings of being better than others.” Whereas displaying genuine humility is described as “the peace activist accepted the Nobel Prize on behalf of all who have worked to end the violence.” So sharing the spotlight for positive actions could be another version of humility, instead of claiming all the credit for work well done. Anything I do, I do as the result of God’s blessings and efforts. Today I am very grateful for ALL of you who have been beside me on this journey. 21 days today, and we are headed to the ocean with the furkids. Look at what is in front of you-A DAY AT A TIME!!!
Hugs,
SMB
heart_hands

