I believe in supporting the Fellowship by any means, from cash donations to being of service in whatever way is needed. It takes a group to be a group. I am grateful for the changes in my life that have occurred as the direct result of being a member of A.A. I have been blessed in many, many ways; from gaining the peace of mind, to learning to live one day at a time. Today my life has purpose and direction, something that gives me a feeling of being part of the world, part of life. One of my shortcomings was my selfishness, and this has given way to feelings of generosity and kindness towards others. A.A. has given me a lot, and now it’s my turn to give back, and I do so willingly and freely. I work to share my experience, strength and hope with others that they may gain some insight into their own behavior. “Alcoholism is but a symptom.” The real culprit is my behavior, my actions and my prior belief that life is written in stone. Change is not only possible, it is absolutely needed to maintain a true sense of recovery. The Promises tell us that “We will lose interest in selfish things and gain interest in our fellows. That self-seeking will slip away.” One of the basics in A.A. is that recovery happens when we move beyond our selves. I am but a part of a whole – a sober member of Alcoholics Anonymous.
Gift

