In the Program we are advised to “work” Step Ten, at night, before falling off to sleep. Working Step Ten, for many, means a review of the days activities and interactions with others. I look for mistakes in my exchange with others. In conversations I may have not said what I intended, or maybe I was rude without meaning to be rude. I look for old self-defeating behaviors and actions that did not work in my life before or after I began the recovery process. I did not grow up with any sense of courtesy beyond the standard “please and thank you.” I forget or don’t remember to acknowledge another members pain, or the hardship someone else is going through. I forget how hard it is to share the difficult times in life, it’s always easier to share the good things. Step Ten further encourages me to be prompt about admitting my wrongs. Not to do so means that I’m carrying around a lot of unnecessary “baggage.” Faults that may be used to undermine my recovery. So action is a key factor in Step Ten. How do you view step 10?

Photo Courtesy of Rocky

Photo Courtesy of Rocky

