Ironically, the word “alcohol” is only used once in the Twelve Steps. It is found in Step One, and is found in conjunction to our admission of being “powerless” over it. I can’t begin to tell you the number of times I started out to have “one or two” drinks, and ended up closing the bar at 2 a.m. Once I entered the rooms of A.A., my recovery began. First I had to admit defeat – alcohol won, I did not! The unmanageability of my life was readily visible, when I looked at it with sober eyes. The rest of the Steps are about behavior and they call for action, honesty, and a willingness I did not know I possessed. One other thing- open-mindedness – this came to the forefront with the “God” thing. Being open-minded was essential to an acceptance of a Higher Power, who has kept me safe throughout my entire life. Grateful for the GIFT!!
ouch

