My “list” has changed over my time in the Program in Step 8(since it’s the 8th month). As I have gone through the processes of recovery, more is revealed to me, every time. Some persons I can take off the list, as having made whatever amends is needed, and there are some names I can add as my memory of old injuries becomes clearer. And then there is the new “offenses” which have occurred in the process of becoming a sober member of A.A., which are revealed to me when I work Step Ten. This “cleansing” is a continual process, and one that I am constantly “working.” One thing I strive for with Step Eight is the willingness to do whatever it takes to make amends to each and everyone. I have come to understand that alcoholism is a disease, and as such my behavior will never be 100% perfect, but I can and do work towards improvement. Because of this understanding my “guilt load” has eased, and I have quit beating myself up, instead I have become willing to accept myself as a flawed human being.
aa_symbol

