There has been a debate raging for years on what constitutes “normal.” What’s normal for me, may not be normal for others. This comparison of myself to others has always resulted in my coming up short. I just never seemed to measure up to others – they were prettier, thinner, richer, smarter, etc. Thank goodness that the Program has taught me to compare myself with the “me” of living my life in a state of recovery, and the me of old – drunk, irresponsible, rude, and obnoxious. I found that I shared many similarities with others in the rooms of A.A. There is a happy medium here – it starts off with sobriety, and after that is change and growth through working the Program of Alcoholics Anonymous. I have come to the conclusion that not only do I not want to be “normal” as defined by the media; but I prefer to define myself as compared to “before and after” recovery.
coin

