“There was nothing left for us but to pick up the simple kit of spiritual tools laid at our feel by Alcoholics Anonymous.”
When I see wrongs in others, I need to stop and search out those same wrongs in me, and then take responsibility by working to change those very behaviors. It’s easy to sit back and complain about others – but in A.A. we learn to review our behaviors on a daily basis through Step Ten. Identifying my character defects and shortcomings gives me plenty of things to work on. Unless I sponsor a person, or am asked a direct question, I try to stay out of the “program” of others. Minding my own business reminds me where my focus should be. My “partner” today is God as I understand Him, and my part in change is 1) identify the area where change is needed, 2) accept the fact that I can only make changes in my behavior, not the behavior of others, and 3) come to the realization that change is a life-long process, one that never ends.
th

